Wishful Wednesday: Getting to Know Talitha

My third great grandmother, Talitha Skidmore Littleton, and my great grand aunt, Nancy Elizabeth Littleton Ingraham
My third great grandmother, Talitha Skidmore Littleton, and my great grand aunt, Nancy Elizabeth Littleton Ingraham

Oral tradition states that one of my third great grandmothers was one quarter Cherokee. Of course, many of us have similar oral traditions handed down about our ancestors. Although we do not have a multitude of information about her, we are fortunate to have at least one photograph of which I am aware. Judging by it and a photo we have of one of her daughters, I would have to say it is a very strong possibility.

I would love to be able to go back in time and know many of my ancestors but this one, especially. The oral tradition and physical features intrigue me so that I cannot help but wonder at the possibility of embarking upon a discovery of another entire branch of my family tree. How exciting it would be to know about one of your ancestors actually being from a Native American tribe and learning about their traditions and culture! On an episode of The Golden Girls, Blanche was telling the other girls about a dream she had. She recalled meeting a Native American and informed the girls that if he was to show up, they were to tell him that she wanted to know more about his people. An odd way to relate my feelings about my ancestor, but true nevertheless. I want to know more about her people.

2 thoughts on “Wishful Wednesday: Getting to Know Talitha

  1. would there be anyway to get a file of this picture sent to my email? one that is large enough to reproduce in a family tree book?

Leave a Reply

